Greetings to the 20th National Congress of the Communist Party of Sri Lanka

            July 20, 2014

General Secretary
91 Dr. N.M. Perera Mawatha St., Colombo - 08
Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka
E-mail : This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.


Dear Comrade :

            Thru you, the Partido Komunista ng Pilipinas (PKP-1930, the Philippine Communist Party) sends warmest fraternal greetings to the 20th National Congress of the Communist Party of Sri Lanka (CPSL) which will be held in Ratnapura, the capital city of Sabaragamuwa Province, on July 25 to 27, 2014.

            The PKP-1930 salutes the CPSL’s role as a constituent member of the Socialist Alliance, the alliance of left parties which share power in the present United Peoples Freedom Alliance Government in Sri Lanka. The CPSL’s representation in this government with two Cabinet Ministers is indeed proof of the CPSL’s political mettle and strength, despite the temporary setbacks caused by the collapse of the socialist community in Europe, the global spread of neo-liberal economic policies, and Sri Lanka’s long and painful ethnic war which was ended only in 2009.

The CPSL’s role as a partner in Sri Lanka’s present coalition government is an important factor in keeping Sri Lanka on the side of international peace, freedom and socialism. The CPSL’s governance role in the Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka is a source of inspiration for the PKP-1930.

            We hope that your forthcoming 20th National Congress will chart a successful strategy for the further strengthening of the CPSL, for the further revitalization of Sri Lanka’s left movement, and for Sri Lanka’s greater contribution in the worldwide struggle against imperialism and for peace and socialism.

                                                                                                With communist greetings,

                                                                                                ANTONIO E. PARIS

                                                                                                            General Secretary